Why I travel

BalaclavaPark_MaiaKumariGilman_624

 

Why I travel

 

Because I am human, and I inhabit a physical body, my experience of the sacred is automatically spatial. My experience of the spirit translates easily into the architectures of faith. I explore this. I travel.

Because I am human, and because I engage my physical senses at every moment, my understanding of the spiritual is, by nature, a physical one, tested against what I see, hear, breathe, taste, touch, love and feel. Should one or more of these senses be deprived in any moment, the others compensate in an extraordinary pulsation of experience.

Because I am human, and what I primarily know is the physical, my understanding of the spiritual is often relegated to a classification of physical experiences.

The body perceives the understanding of the spirit, thereby making my understanding of spirit a physical one.

Reverse this order.

Know the spirit as the vehicle, the vessel, in which the body is held, delicately, in its form.

What does this change in my understanding?

That the sacred transcends the physical, is not limited by the immediate perceptions of the body.

That because the sacred is all, and the body is contained within in, that the body alone is not sacred, but that everything is.

This knowing is illuminated through travel, and its expansion of the senses.

This is why I travel.

 

-Maia

www.maiakumarigilman.com

excerpt from the soon-to-be-released book:

Duct Tape for Kali: a book of travel poems by Maia Kumari Gilman

 

Leave a Reply

