I’ve been painting…

maia-kumari-gilman-in-progress

I’ve been painting, a lot. Abstract, colorful, acrylic, mixed media, collage…having an incredible amount of fun. Painting opens the door to writing, which helps me to summarize architecture, space, and design…and the human experience of those aspects of living. In between kids off to school bus pick up and getting ready for my day, these thoughts bubbled up and I decided to share them with you. Below are my three “truths” (personal to me, maybe they resonate with you) in painting, so far, to date.

  1. Being done is a matter of deciding when to stop, and then stopping – there will always be more marks you *could* make; 
  2. every mark is a form of your own inner self-expression, no matter how random it may appear be (thank you Mom for that one); 
  3. there are no mistakes (corollary to the previous truth).
The above image is of work in progress – 10″x 10″ canvases in a grid formation, mixed media. Stay tuned to see how they turn out! I am posting art-journeying on Instagram. More painting to come, and writing, and buildings in renovation and design.
Enjoy your creative day!
-Maia

5 thoughts on “I’ve been painting…

Leave a Reply

